Newhouse’s Drew Carter ’19 wins 2019 Jim Nantz Award, named most outstanding collegiate sportscaster

By Wendy S. Loughlin

May 28, 2019

10 students and recent alumni are also recognized in the STAA All-America Competition

The Newhouse School at Syracuse University is well known as the best place for future sports broadcasters.

Image of Drew Carter

The strong Newhouse showing in the 2019 Sportscasters Talent Agency of America (STAA) All-America Competition are an example of why the school has earned this reputation.

The competition recognizes the most outstanding collegiate radio and TV sports broadcasters from across the country, with the top student winning the Jim Nantz Award.

Drew Carter, a 2019 graduate of the Newhouse School, is the recipient of the 2019 Jim Nantz Award, and two other Newhouse names—alumnus Noah Eagle ’19 and senior Jonah Karp—were named competition “All-Americans.”

Three more Newhouse students were named among the top 20 collegiate sports broadcasters: junior Cooper Boardman and seniors Jonathon Hoppe and JD Raucci.

Additionally, Tyler Aki ’19, Dana Grey ’19, John McMullen ’19 and juniors Will Scott and Corey Spector received honorable mentions.  

A native of Plymouth, Minnesota, Carter majored in broadcast and digital journalism at the Newhouse School. As a student, he served as an anchor on CitrusTV, wrote for the sports website Orange Fizz and worked at the radio stations WJPZ and WAER, where he was assistant sports director. He also served as on-air talent for ACC Network Extra, the ESPN-owned digital platform that, through a partnership with Syracuse University, has served as a training ground for many aspiring sports broadcasters at the Newhouse School.

Following the STAA announcement, alumnus Mike Tirico ’88, a sportscaster with NBC Sports, tweeted his congratulations to the honorees, and noted Syracuse University’s strength in sports broadcasting training.  

The Newhouse School has produced more talented sports journalists than any other program in the country, leading Syracuse University to be hailed by Sports Illustrated as an “incubator” of American sportscasters. In addition to Tirico, notable sports alumni include Bob Costas '74, Ian Eagle '90, Beth Mowins G’90, Sean McDonough ’84, Marv Albert '63, Anish Shroff '04 and Kimberley A. Martin G'06, among many others.