A photo of Dean Lorraine Branham, Shelly Lazarus of Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide, and Eric Mower of Eric Mower and Associates.

Pictured above: Newhouse Dean Lorraine Branham with Shelly Lazarus, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide, and Eric Mower of Mower at the Eric Mower Advertising Forum on April 17, 2013.


Eric Mower Advertising Forum

The Eric Mower Advertising Forum was established by the advertising department in 2009, in honor of alumnus Eric Mower ’66, G’68, chairman and CEO of the advertising and public relations firm Mower. The forum supports a premier speaker series that provides students and faculty with practical, workshop-oriented learning experiences. 

Guests have included:

Inductees to the American Association of Advertising Agencies (4A) Advertising Hall of Fame

  • Carla Michelotti, Former EVP, Chief Legal, Government & Corporate Affairs Officer, Leo Burnett

  • David Bell, chairman emeritus, Interpublic Group
  • Shelly Lazarus, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide
  • Chuck Porter, CEO and co-Founder, Crispin, Porter + Bogusky (CP+B)
  • Wally Snyder, former president, American Advertising Federation (AAF) and founder, Institute of Advertising Ethics

Distinguished Leaders of Advertising Associations

  • Nancy Hill, former president-CEO, American Association of Advertising Agencies
  • Bob Liodice, president and CEO, Association of National Advertisers
  • Randall Rothenberg, president and CEO, Interactive Advertising Bureau

Leaders of A-List Ad Agencies

  • Sharona Sankar-King, EVP, Head of Marketing Science, BBDO

  • Jane Lacher, EVP, Strategy Group Director, ZenithOptimedia

  • Bill Borrelle, former CEO, mcgarrybowen New York
  • John Cook, CEO, VML
  • Lee Doyle ’84, executive director, GroupM
  • David Droga, CEO and founder, Droga 5
  • Sara Hofstetter, president, 360i
  • Louis Jones, former CEO, Maxus North America, GroupM
  • Richard Kirshenbaum ’83, CEO, NSG/SWAT and former founder, KBP
  • Patrick Lafferty, CEO, Translation
  • Chris MacDonald, president, McCann Ericson New York
  • Daniel Morel, former chairman and CEO, Wunderman
  • Rob Norman, chief digital officer, GroupM and chairman, Group M North America
  • Barb Reilly, managing partner and executive director, Arnold Worldwide
  • Kevin Roberts, former CEO Worldwide, Saatchi & Saatchi
  • Troy Ruhanen, president and CEO, TBWA\Worldwide
  • David Sable, global CEO, Y&R
  • Annemarie Schoepfer ’98, senior vice president and group director, behavioral planning, BBDO
  • Matt Seiler, CEO, MediaBrands
  • Brent Smart, CEO, Saatchi & Saatchi New York
  • Seth Solomons ’91, CEO, Wunderman 
  • Greg Stern, CEO, Butler, Shine, Stern and Partners
  • Rishad Tabaccawalla, chairman, Digitas Lbi and Razorfish, Publicis Groupe 
  • Lisa Unsworth ’84, managing partner and chief marketing officer, Arnold Worldwide
  • Bryan Wiener ’92, Chairman, 360i
  • Joanne Zaiac, president, Digitas, New York
  • Kate Paulin, Supervisor, Insight & Planning, 360i
  • Sue Crolick Founder, Art Buddies and Stacy Janicki, Dir. of Account Management, Sr. Partner, Carmichael Lynch
  • Kevin Robert, CEO Worldwide, Saatchi & Saatchi
  • Chris Mumford, Managing Partner, The Martin Agency
  • 360i Advertising Day - Bryan Wiener, Chairman and a team of strategists and HR managers, 360i
  • Claudia Steer, Group Strategy Director, DDB Worldwide
  • William Manfredi, EVP, Global Talent Management, Y&R/VML
  • Ladd Martin, EVP, Worldwide Senior Director, BBDO
  • Christina Campisi, Global Marketing Director, Elizabeth Arden
  • Jon Castle, President, Nissan United of TBWA
  • Deacon Webster, CCO/Founder, Walrus
  • Pam Hamlin, Global CEO, Arnold Worldwide
  • Lisa Unsworth, Managing Partner, Arnold Worldwide
  • Founder, Anomaly, Jason DeLand

Chief Creative Directors

  • Rob Baiocco, chief creative officer, The BAM Connection
  • Susan Credle, global chief creative officer, FCB Global
  • Bob Isherwood, former worldwide chief creative director, Saatchi & Saatchi
  • Rich Levy, executive vice president and chief creative director, DRAFTFCB Healthcare
  • Gary Scheiner ’89, executive vice president and chief creative officer, greyhealth group
  • Anthony Yell, chief creative officer, SapientNitro
  • Taras Wayner, SVP, Executive Creative Director, R/GA, New York
  • Sung Chang, Chief Creative Officer, MRM/McCann East

Distinguished Executives of Advertisers/Broadcast Media/Social Media Companies/Others

  • Steve Biddle, US Retail, Global Marketing Solutions, Facebook

  • Stacy Minero, Director, Brand Strategy, Twitter

  • Jennifer Murillo, VP, Global Marketing, Discover Financial Services

  • Randall Smith, Associate Brand Director, The Procter & Gamble Company

  • Pete Blackshaw, global head of digital and social media, Nestle 
  • Irene Chang Britt, president, Pepperidge Farm and senior vice president, Global Baking and Snacking
  • Bill Halpin ’88, G’95, G’05, team leader, mobile unit, Google
  • Deb Henretta G’85, former group president, Procter & Gamble
  • Beth Ann Kaminkow ’89, global chief marketing officer and executive vice president, Westfield Corp.
  • Will Kussell, former president, Dunkin’ Donuts
  • Andrea Levine, director, National Advertising Division and senior vice president, Council of Better Business Bureaus
  • Kitty Lun G’80, CEO, Facebook, Hong Kong
  • Sandra Cordova Micek ’91, senior vice president of global brands, Hyatt Hotels Corporation
  • John Miller ’72, chief marketing officer, NBCUniversal Television Group
  • Matt VanDyke, vice president of marketing, Ford Europe, Ford Motor Company
  • Avi Dan, CEO, Avidan Strategies, Former EVP, Global Executive Director, Havas Worldwide

Eric Mower

Beginning in 1968, after receiving a master’s degree in public communications from the Newhouse School, Mower guided a small, one-office, Syracuse-based firm to become a nationally recognized, integrated marketing and communications practice with nine U.S. offices. Mower’s experience includes a wide range of B2C and B2B categories in both advertising and public relations, including brand development and crisis communications.

Mower is a member of the Newhouse Advisory Board and a Life Trustee of Syracuse University. He is co-chair of the Business Council of New York State; chair of the American Association of Advertising Agencies (4A) Government Relations Committee; chair emeritus and continuing director of the Advertising Self-Regulatory Council (ASRC); and member of the board of directors of the Council of Better Business Bureaus. He is also a past officer and director of 4A’s national board and a past director of the American Advertising Federation (AAF).

The Mower firm was twice honored among Advertising Age’s Top 10 Best Places to Work.

Mower received Syracuse University’s highest alumni honor, the Arents Award, in 2015.