Named Chairs & Professorships

Alexia Tsairis Chair for Documentary Photography

The Alexia Chair supports photographers whose work contributes to the improvement of the human condition. It was established in the Newhouse School through a generous gift from the Alexia Foundation and Peter and Aphrodite Tsairis, the parents of Pan Am 103 victim Alexia Tsairis, who was a Newhouse photojournalism student at the time of her death. Mike Davis, a photography editor and educator who has served as a picture editor for National Geographic magazine, the White House and several newspapers, holds the position.

David J. Levidow Endowed Professor

T. Makana Chock

The David J. Levidow Endowed Professor was created by Newhouse alumnus David Levidow '48. T. Makana Chock holds the position. She has conducted internationally recognized research in the area of media psychology. She studies the ways in which people process and respond to persuasive messages in mass media, social media and extended reality contexts.

Horvitz Endowed Chair in Journalism Innovation

The Peter A. Horvitz Endowed Chair in Journalism Innovation was established to develop and teach new courses that will allow students to explore the intersection of journalism and technology, and to work collaboratively to develop new content models and new forms of storytelling. Professor Dan Pacheco holds the position, which was funded by Newhouse alumnus Peter Horvitz ’76, chairman, president and CEO of Horvitz Newspapers LLC.

John Ben Snow Endowed Research Chair

The John Ben Snow Endowed Research Chair was established by the John Ben Snow Foundation, whose mission is to make grants to enhance the quality of life in Central and Northern New York state. Professor Lars Willnat currently holds the position. Professor Willnat was previously the director of the School of Journalism and Media at the University of Kentucky and, before that, director of graduate studies at the Indiana University School of Journalism. Earlier in his career, he taught at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. and the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He is the author of several books, including “The American Journalist in the Digital Age” with David H. Weaver and Cleve Wilhoit. His research focuses on comparative media studies and political communication in Asia.

Knight Chair in Data and Explanatory Journalism

Headshot of Jodi Upton

The Knight Chair in Data and Explanatory Journalism is supported by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and was established at the Newhouse School in 2016. Jodi Upton, a data journalist with 20 years of experience, holds the position. Previously, she was a senior database editor at USA Today where she worked on data-driven coverage of topics including Veterans Administration hospitals, new economy jobs, mass killings and college football coaches’ salaries. She teaches data analytics and is building a data journalism curriculum.

Newhouse Endowed Chair of Public Communications

Carol Liebler, professor of communications in the Newhouse School at Syracuse University, is the Newhouse Endowed Chair of Public Communications. The position is awarded to a distinguished faculty member whose accomplishments significantly advance the school’s reputation in research and creative activity.

Trustee Professor of Television & Popular Culture

Professor Robert Thompson is one of the most quoted experts on popular culture in the world. At Newhouse, he serves as director of the Bleier Center for Television and Popular Culture, which is supported by a gift from longtime media executive and Newhouse alumnus Edward Bleier '51.