Newhouse 1

Newhouse Facts

Academic Units

  • Advertising (B.S., M.A.)
  • Arts Journalism (M.A.)
  • Audio Arts (joint M.A. with the College of Visual and Performing Arts)
  • Bandier Program in Recording and Entertainment Industries (B.S.)
  • Broadcast and Digital Journalism (B.S., M.S.)
  • Communications@Syracuse (online M.S.)
  • Communications Management (executive education M.S.)
  • Magazine, News and Digital Journalism (B.S.)
  • Magazine, Newspaper & Online Journalism (M.A.)
  • Mass Communications (Ph.D.)
  • Media and Education (M.A.)
  • New Media Management (M.S.)
  • Media Studies (M.A.)
  • Visual Communications [Graphic Design (B.S.); Photography (B.S.) Multimedia, Photography and Design (M.S.)]
  • Public Diplomacy and Global Communications (joint M.A. with the Maxwell School)
  • Public Relations (B.S., M.S.)
  • Television, Radio & Film (B.S., M.A.)


  • 1919: Department of Journalism founded as part of the School of Business Administration
  • 1934: School of Journalism established
  • 1964: First building, Newhouse 1, opens
  • 1971: School of Journalism merges with Department of Television and Radio; re-named S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
  • 1974: Second building, Newhouse 2, opens
  • 2007: Third building, Newhouse 3, opens
  • 2014: Studio and Innovation Center, featuring the Dick Clark Studios and Alan Gerry Center for Media Innovation, opens

Mark Lodato

More than 80 full-time instructional faculty and 50 adjunct faculty

Approximately 76 staff

More than 28,000 living alumni

Approximately 2,000 undergraduates, 180 residential master’s degree students, 200 online master's degree students and 5 doctoral degree students

Newhouse received approximately 3,200 applications for a first-year class of 420. The typical admitted first-year student has a 3.8 GPA and an SAT score in the 1300s. On the graduate level, the school received approximately 700 applications each year for about 180 spots in the 12 on-campus master’s programs. The average GPA of undergraduate students admitted to the graduate programs is 3.4, though it varies by program.  

The Newhouse School is housed in a 250,000-square-foot, three-building complex that includes state-of-the-art classrooms, professional studios, a digital news center, a 300-seat auditorium, a research center, a doctoral student suite and offices, an executive education wing, a café and many spaces for formal and informal meetings and collaboration among students, faculty and staff.


The S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications is one of 100+ mass communications schools accredited through the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). Our voluntary participation in self-assessment and external review helps to ensure that Newhouse students consistently receive excellent preparation for their future careers in the communications industries. Our accreditation reflects our commitment to nine standards that translate into small class sizes, hands-on learning experiences, an introduction to communications law, comprehensive advising and career development, and a strong liberal arts foundation. To learn more about accreditation and why it matters, visit the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications website.