A photo of Marv Albert, Donald Newhouse, Dean Lorraine Branham and Jeff Glor at the 2016 Mirror Awards.

Mirror Awards

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

Award categories include:

  • Best Single Article/Story ($1,000 prize)
  • Best Profile–Traditional/Legacy or Digital Media ($1,000 prize)
  • Best Commentary–Traditional/Legacy or Digital Media ($1,000 prize)
  • John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting ($5,000 prize)

Special topic categories for 2018 are:

  • Best Story on Fake News
  • Best Story on Sexual Misconduct in the Media Industry
The 2016 Mirror Awards luncheon was held at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.

The competition is open to anyone who conducts reporting, commentary or criticism of the media industries. Eligible work includes print, broadcast and online editorial content focusing on the development or distribution of news and entertainment.

Entries are evaluated based on excellence of craft, framing of the issue and appropriateness for the intended audience. Winners are chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators.

Winners and finalists are honored at an awards luncheon, held each June in New York City.

Visit the Mirror Awards>>